Back to Civilization….Hoodoo Lodge wrap up

Finally made it back to civilization. It seemed as though it was never going to happen as the last two weeks went by about as slow as they possibly could of. Not sure if it was because the silver fishing was brutally tough or that I was so anxious to get back to swinging my home waters of the Trinity and Klamath for fresh chrome. Either way, I am back in California and my time in Alaska for 2011 is done!

King season at Hoodoo is probably the most memorable part of the summer on the Alaska Peninsula. I have fished and caught quite a few Kings in my life and I can say that after a season of guiding Kings at Hoodoo that it is hands down the best King fishing around. Most fish in the first month of the season were chrome bright and rittled with sea lice. While not always huge, the average fish was in the 18-20 lb range with many over 30 lbs. I was even fortunate enough to have a client, Cal Howard land a 50 lb king, going 49×27″.

With many quality fish landed throughout the season, what is most impressive were the numbers of fish landed on the swung fly. Average days saw 2-4 fish landed per angler and we even saw a few days were 6-10 kings landed were the norm. Not too many places in the world can you have that many opportunities at Kings on the fly!

King season winded down toward the end of July which offered many opportunities at sea run dollies, char, and hard fighting chum. One thing I will say, is that chum fresh out of the Bering Sea are an extremely underrated game fish!

As was the case with most of the runs this summer, the silver showed a little late making the first couple of weeks of silver fishing tough. While conditions were pretty good the numbers of fish just were not there early on. Once the fish began to show, the weather deteriorated fast, and we had a lot of rain and cold weather which caused the fish to move upriver fast. We still caught great numbers of silvers, but not as many on the surface as I would of liked to see. That being said, we were still seeing nickel bright, sea-liced silvers into the last couple of days of the season. All in all, it was a pretty good summer in AK for 2011 but I have to admit that I am excited to be back in California chasing fall steelhead and kings.


Go for the grab!

JH

This entry was posted in Fishing, Fishing Reports and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Back to Civilization….Hoodoo Lodge wrap up

  1. Ryan D says:

    Nice pics, I saw that you do a winter steelhead school and was wondering if you had set any dates for that yet.

  2. steelheadonthespey says:

    Hi Ryan,
    Thanks. Dates for the 2011-2012 winter steelhead schools are Dec 10th, 11th, and January 7th, 2012. I just sent out an email blast on my newsletter about the schools. If you do not receive the newsletter shoot me an email and I can email you all the details.

  3. Ryan D says:

    Thanks, I appreciate the reply.

Leave a Reply

